Saunders & Murray on Top of Podium at National Team Selection Event

Kitchener, ON, February 4, 2018 – Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau and Jennifer Saunders of Winnipeg have finished on top of the podium at Racquetball Canada’s National Team Selection Event held this weekend in Kitchener, ON. Thirty-one of Canada’s top athletes competed in the tournament held at Kitchener YMCA from February 2 to 4.
Samuel Murray defeated Tim Landeryou of Calgary in Sunday’s final in two games with scores of 15-13, 15-3. Murray also won the first selection event of the season held last November in Vernon so he comes out of the two events with a perfect record. Murray has been gaining great pro-tour experience on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT), making him hard to beat.
Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge finished in third place but did not play his bronze medal match after Pedro Castro of Brossard withdrew before the semifinals because of illness. Castro had a major win in the quarterfinals over top seeded Mike Green of Hamilton but then had to withdraw.
Jen Saunders of Winnipeg finished in a familiar spot on top of the podium in the Women’s Open event. She was challenged to a tie-breaker by Alexis Iwaasa of Lethbridge, but won with scores of 15-7, 13-15, 11-7. Seeded in 6th place, Iwaasa upset higher seeded athletes to get to her first final at the national elite level.
Christine Richardson, also of Winnipeg finished her tournament in 3rd place with a win over Michèle Morissette of Baie-Comeau, QC.
This is the final event prior to the 2018 Pan Am Championship Team being named by Racquetball Canada. Results from the Kitchener selection event will be a factor in the selection of the team as well as the team that will represent Canada at the World Championships this summer.
The Pan Am Championship Team will be announced later this week.
Men’s Open Singles Results 
1st Place 
(3) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated (4) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB), 15-13, 15-3.
3rd Place
(2) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (8) Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC), forfeit
Semi Finals
(4) Tim Landeryou defeated (8) Castro, forfeit;
(3) Samuel Murray defeated (2) Iwaasa, 15-2, 15-5.
Quarter Finals
(8) Castro (Brossard, QC) defeated (1) Mike Green (Hamilton, ON), 15-10, 15-12;
(4) Tim Landeryou defeated (5) James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK), 15-9, 15-10;
(3) Samuel Murray defeated (6) Nicolas Bousquet (Montreal, QC), 15-5, 15-6;
(2) Iwaasa defeated (7) Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK), 15-4, 15-8.
Round of 16
(1) Green (Hamilton, ON) defeated (17) Sean Sauvé (Mercier, QC), 15-2, 15-2;
(8) Castro (Brossard, QC) defeated (9) Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC), 15-12, 15-4;
(5) James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (12) Brayley (Calgary, AB), 15-7, 15-7;
(4) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated (13) Tanner Mattson (North Vancouver, BC), 15-12,15-10;
(3) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated (14) Joshua Keil (Saskatoon, SK), 15-7, 15-4;
(6) Bousquet (Montréal, QC) defeated (11) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON), 15-2, 15-4;
(7) Connell (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (10) Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 16-14, 11-15, 11-6;
(2) Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (15) Michael Leduc (Quebec, QC), 15-12, 15-3.
Round of 32
(11) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON) defeated (22) Bill Digregorio (Toronto, ON), 15-2, 15-5;
(12) Mitch Brayley (Calgary,  AB) defeated (21) Mathew Forstner (Oakville, ON), 15-2, 9-15, 11-8;
(13) Tanner Mattson (North Vancouver, BC) defeated (20) Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK), 15-8, 15-12;
(14) Joshua Keil (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (19) Kyle Wiseman (Burlington, ON), 15-5, 15-6;
(15) Michael Leduc (Quebec, QC) defeated (18) Dylan Scattalon (Candiac, QC), 15-8, 15-7;
(17) Sean Sauvé (Mercier, QC) defeated (16) Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC), 15-6, 15-5.
Gold Medal Match
(1) Jen Saunders (Winnipeg, MB), defeated (6) Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB), 15-7, 13-15, 11-7.
Bronze Medal Match
(2) Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB) defeated (4) Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC), 15-6, 16-14.
(1) Saunders (Winnipeg, MB) defeated (4) Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC), 15-12, 15-0;
(6) Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (2) Richardson (Winnipeg, MB), 8-15, 15-10, 11-8.
(1) Saunders (Winnipeg, MB) defeated (9) Juliette Parent (St-Jacques De Montcalm, QC), 15-7, 15-5;
(4) Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated Valerie Fallu (Candiac, QC), 15-11, 15-11;
(6) Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (3) Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK), 10-15, 15-7, 11-8;
(2) Richardson (Winnipeg, MB) defeated Erin Geeraert (Saskatoon, SK), 15-9, 15-4.
Round of 16
(9) Parent (St-Jacques De Montcalm, QC) defeated (8) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 16-14, 15-9.
Men’s Open Singles Final Standings 
1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)
2. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)
3. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)
4. Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC)
5. Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC)
6. James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK)
7. Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)
8. Mike Green (Hamilton, ON)
9. Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON)
10. Tanner Mattson (North Vancouver, BC)
11. Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC)
12. Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK)
13. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)
14. Kyle Wiseman (Burlington, ON)
15. Dylan Scattalon (Candiac, QC)
16. Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC)
17. Mathew Forstner (Oakville, ON)
18. Bill Digregorio (Toronto, ON)
Women’s Open Singles Final Standings 
1. Jen Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)
2. Alexis Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)
3. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)
4. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)
5. Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB)
6. Valerie Fallu (Candiac, QC)
7. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK)
8. Juliette Parent (St-Jacques De Montcalm, QC)
9. Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK)
Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website.
Media Contact:
Jan Hanson
Director of Communications and Marketing
Racquetball Canada Board of Directors I 306.502.4422